Photo101 Day 1 Home

Today is day one of Photo 101, and this is our assignment:

Home is elusive. When we think about this word, we might picture different physical locations. And while home is often found on a map, it can also be less tangible: a loved one, a state of mind.

Anyone who has been reading this blog for some time knows what home means to me. It is Australia, and for some reason, the first thing I think of is the gum trees.

Gum Tree

Gum Tree

They come in many varieties and I love them all. Some have stunning blooms, some have flowers that infuse the surrounding air with the scent of honey, some have thin leaves, some have fat leaves. Generally, they are messy and drop twigs, bark, and branches often, but still, I love them.

Gumnuts

Gumnuts

The gum tree that frames most of my sunset photos.

The gum tree that frames most of my sunset photos.

They provide a home to many of Australia’s unique birds and animals, species that can’t be found elsewhere in the world; cockatoos, kookaburras, rosellas, and koalas.

On the rare occurrences that I found a gum tree when I was living in Florida and Scotland, I’d always pick a leaf, scrunch it up, and hold it to my nose to inhale the eucalyptus scent. I’ve always loved it, and in my time away, it was my favourite reminder of what ‘Home’ was to me.

Gum leaves

Gum leaves

One of my goals for this year was to brush up on my photography skills before I leave on my next big adventure, so I jumped at the opportunity to do the WordPress Photo 101 course.

Since returning to Australia nineteen months ago, I’ve been reluctant to leave again. My husband loves to travel and thankfully, he likes to take me with him most of the time, which was great until we moved back home. I guess I’ve been feeling a little guilty about not travelling with him, which was why I told him I’d found the one trip that would induce me to leave the country again – an arctic cruise.

The trip is now booked, our departure date is September 2nd, and I’m excited. I’m hoping that taking a photo a day for Photo 101 will force me to learn more about my camera, perhaps become a little more creative with my photos, and help prepare me for the stunning images I hope to take on my arctic cruise.

10 thoughts on “Photo101 Day 1 Home

  1. Oh dear,
    What an exercise in bad timing. Our news this morning that the cruise was cancelled could not have been more of a shock. What now, I wonder

    • If you mean the arctic photos, you’ll have to wait another eighteen months. Received a call this morning from the travel company to let us know the cruise has been cancelled. I think I’m still in shock, but also upset about missing out on the add-ons we’d planned – visiting friends in Norway and Glasgow. 😦

  2. Sorry to hear about the cruise being cancelled Juli. I would have thought they would have another ship to take you all, but obviously not. What a shame.

    Just keep taking the photos and telling more about your home. It’s lovely to hear about your part of the world.

    • Thank you, Hugh. I’m disappointed, but now it has sunk in, I’m more upset about missing out on the add-ons we’d planned, visiting friends in Scotland and Norway. The trip will happen at the same time next year.

Leave a Reply

