Two Years

There are exciting plans afoot in my world. When we bought this house, the garden looked like someone had dumped a mass of plants in one section, and then never moved forward with the plan they had for those plants. It certainly wasn’t what I had in mind for our garden, and so I looked at it as a blank canvas I could use to create a garden I wanted, one that would attract the local birds, bees and butterflies.

The basic clearing and landscaping has now been done, but I’m restraining myself from planting until my studio is built. We’ve been waiting a long time for this, and today, the builders are here – so that’s exciting.

I’ve always enjoyed gardening, loved spending time with dirt and plants, but I really have little knowledge about it. I want to change that. I plan to learn as I go, and as part of that process, I’d like to use this blog to post photos of the changes, so I can check back from time to time to see what was happening at a certain month or season in the years to come.

Today is a good day to mark this change, because it is the two year anniversary of my very first post.

Yes, it is now two years since this humble overview of my transition from living overseas for ten years to moving back to my homeland began.

I planned to blog about my feelings in my last year in Scotland and my first year in Australia, and I guess that’s more or less what I’ve done. I’m glad I did it, pleased I have this record of that period in time, but it’s over now and I’m ready to move on to establishing the rest of my life here without those reflections.

September sunset

September sunset

I understand that gardening in Australia will be of little interest to you if you live in the Northern Hemisphere, and many of you might not be interested in gardening at all, or my feeble attempts at mastering it, so I completely understand and honestly won’t mind if you unsubscribe.

Your visits and comments to my blog have made me happy, but most of all I’ve enjoyed ‘meeting’ many of you and learning about your lives in different parts of the world, and I imagine I will still do that.

Thank you flower

I have no idea how often I’ll be posting, but it may be sporadic – posts could be months apart, or daily – depending on what’s happening in my life, and in my garden.

The last two years have been fantastic, with a lots of ups, downs, and big life changes. I anticipate the next two years will be less dramatic, but who knows…

Life is a series of changes, and a lot can happen in two years. It will be fun to watch them unfold.

14 thoughts on “Two Years

  1. Good luck with your new stage in life. I really enjoy gardening, but like you, I do not know nearly enough. But I suppose it is something that can be learned along the way. I am looking forward to seeing how your garden grows 😊

    • I am looking forward to it as well, Laila.
      I’ve been watching youtube for gardening tips and advice. It really isn’t hard to find out what you need to know these days, thanks to Google, and I think it will make the whole process far more fun for me. Instead of endlessly flipping through gardening books to find out what I need to know, I can Google a plant and instantly get great advice. I hope it pays off! 🙂
      Thanks for commenting.

  2. Hi Juli,

    I have had a great deal of pleasure in hearing about your transition to Australia and am a bit sorry to see it come to an end. However, I suspect it was time for that to happen. I hope to see more about your garden and it’s transformation and photos of your space–and one day I hope to be seeing it with my own eyes instead of following it through your photos. I feel like I am beginning my own transition only now. We are about 2 years from our return and have been having my own thoughts about where I want to return to. Robert is set on returning to Toledo to sell our house there and then to move more permanently to California. I’m not so sure about the California thing, but it would certainly be a returning to our roots. My mother is expecting us to come and live with her (as are my siblings) and in many ways that would be an easy path to take–even though it means we would undoubtedly be the primary care givers as she dies.

    It also means a return to my childhood home and the town is full of those friends of mine from high school who never moved away or traveled much. And I’m not sure how I feel about that. Right now, I am sitting in my empty flat, Robert is in Germany and most of the people I have been closest to over the past several years have moved away and I know that I should be working on new relationships, finding new ways to keep myself active in the community. As I have been walking to and from the train station, I have been looking around with new eyes and thinking about the places I have been and the things I have started to take for granted in my life– the red sandstone tenement flats, the buildings that have served several lifetimes slowly decaying in Glasgow but that have a beauty in their crumbling states, the people I have met, the sound of those delightful Glaswegian accents… I’ll miss all of that–so I guess I had best get moving and enjoying more of it.

    Last weekend we had another Doors Open Day. Robert and I visited the mosque, the high court and the trade guilds’ building. All were very interesting! Also missed two nephew’s weddings and heard that one of Robert’s closest colleagues in the US is looking at prostate cancer–a not so great blast from our years here. And after the referendum, it feels like a few months worth of stuff has been happening in the last couple of weeks. Oh and I also finally got in a phone visit with Betty.

    That has pretty much been my life lately. Thanks again for the beautiful “End of Reflections” photo and blog and I hope to see more as you move through the seasons in your native land.

    Love & hugs, Diane

  3. I’m really looking forward to reading and seeing this new chapter in your life unfold Juli. I’m not a gardener (my partner does all the gardening) but I’ll be fascinated with the photos you post showing us the progress of your work and the final result.
    The very best of luck with it all and, even if you do only post on your blog once a year, I’ll still be a follower because I’m really interested in your story.
    Best wishes, Hugh

  4. I’ve found your transition-to-home-themed blog so interesting as, although I love Norway, my Norwegian husband and I anticipate a move back to the States in the next few years, and reading of your adjustment to home after being an expat for so many years has been interesting.

    I’m not a gardener, and I’ve only lived in the Northern Hemisphere. And yet … through the blogosphere … I’ve developed such an interest in gardens and the way their growth reflects the personalities of those who cultivate them. So many parables to the humans behind them, maybe?

    Anyway, I’ll enjoy following your new “blog subject” journey!

    • Oops, forgot to complete that last sentence: I’ll enjoy following your new “blog subject” journey …. and feel a little closer to family who live in the Southern Hemisphere (Auckland) at the same time, too!

      • I look forward to hearing about your repatriation experience when it happens, Cindi.
        I agree with you – I believe a garden can reflect the the human experience. I wonder if I will be able to create a garden that reflects my personality, and if I do, what will it look like?
        Thanks for coming by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

