A SuperB Secret Event

In February, I celebrated my first birthday back in Australia after ten years away, and it was all that I hoped for.

I had a lovely dinner with my family, and presents from them all. I felt spoilt, which is how I think birthdays should be, but I have to confess, the icing on my cake was the present my two daughters gave me:

My birthday present.

My birthday present.

I was over the moon because one of my favourite things to do is to spend time with my girls.

The secret destination was an added bonus, because they know what I like and what I’m interested in, so I was sure it would be a fun day where ever we went or whatever we did.

I’ve had over a month to enjoy the delicious anticipation of this event, waiting for the time ‘that is convenient to all’ to arrive, but the anticipatory amps went up when I received this invitation on my Facebook page:

Invitation to a Super Secret Event

Invitation to a Super Secret Event

It was booked.

I spent the next couple of days fighting the urge to guess where we’d go, because I didn’t want to guess.

I wanted a pure surprise – and that’s exactly what I got!

If I had planned this day myself, I couldn’t have thought of better places to go and things to do.

It was a SUPERB day out.

We set off early for the 45 min drive to our first destination.

I couldn’t believe where they were taking me – back to the place of my earliest memories, the area I lived and played in for the best part of my first six years.

I was stoked. They permitted me to make a small diversion so I could show them the home I lived in all those years ago.

And then we went to Sherbrooke Forest.

Many a family outing was spent in this forest when I was small. I remember searching for glimpses of wildlife, finding a lyrebird performing a mating dance, and looking for fairies.

Before we set off on our walk, I was given the activity for our time in the forest:

Photography Bingo

Forest Bingo

The wondrous thing about this was that not only was I visiting this magical forest from my past, I was also going to receive photography lessons from my expert daughters.

Bonus!!

My photography teachers doubling as models.

My photography teachers doubling as models.

So, let me take you on a photographic tour of my Forest Bingo in Sherbrooke Forest:

Super Special Event April 2014 009

A cute snub nosed puppy ent.

A Fairy garden in an old fern stump. See the fairy above it on the right????

A Fairy garden in an old fern stump. See the fairy above it on the right????

My youngest daughter being a model for me.

My youngest daughter being a model for me.

Cockatoos (wildlife) in sports mode.

Cockatoos (wildlife) in sports mode.

Wildlife in sorts mode

Wildlife in sorts mode

Wildlife in sorts mode

Wildlife in sorts mode

Water in motion

Water in motion

Ghosting

Ghosting

Close up

Close up

Playing with White Balance

Playing with White Balance – orange

Playing with White Balance

Playing with White Balance – pink

Playing with white balance - green

Playing with white balance – green

Sherbrooke Forest scenic photo

Sherbrooke Forest scenic photo

I loved the forest, the photography lessons, and the company.

We had so much fun, but the day wasn’t over!

Next, my daughters prepared a yummy picnic lunch for me.

Unfortunately, at this point, the rain set in, and we eventually gave up on the next part of the day’s plan, but I still intend to do it another day – another post.

But wait! There’s more: We drove to the city to visit The Beatles in Australia exhibition at the Arts Centre:

The Beatles in Australia Exhibition

The Beatles in Australia Exhibition

It is fifty years this June, since I was lucky enough to see The Beatles perform live in a small venue.

It was a momentous event in my life, and visiting this exhibition brought all those wonderful memories rushing back.

I love the way music triggers emotions from our past.

After dinner, we all went home exhausted, but I was VERY happy.

Thank you to my lovely daughters fora fantastic birthday present.

A memorable day, filled with memories from past memorable days.

To finish, here’s a few more pics taken in the beautiful Sherbrooke Forest:

Sherbrooke Forest

Sherbrooke Forest

Sherbrooke Forest

A Crimson Rosella

Sherbrooke Forest

An Australian King Parrot

29 thoughts on “A SuperB Secret Event

  1. Such a beautiful post about a memorable day with your generous daughters! It touched my momma-heart. Happy much-belated birthday, and thank you for sharing the day with me!

    • Thank you, Cindi.

      I think our children appreciate us more when we leave them for a few years. I hope you get treated to a similar type of birthday when you return to the US. 🙂

  2. Wow, what a wonderful blog and not only that but wonderful photo’s as well Juli. I could really feel that wonderful feeling you had by taking a trip back to the past. I have written about the same thing and would love to travel back in time if I could build myself a time machine. Maybe join me, if ever I find one on eBay?

  3. Wonderful blog and story and photos!
    I love this idea for photography bingo! I may borrow it for our family get together this summer…with 2 professional photographers and many smart phones among us it would be an engaging way to spend the visit.
    I am trying out this theme, too, for blogging 101…not sure if I like it yet! What do you think?

    • Thank you for popping by, Catherine.

      I’m sure my daughters would be honoured to have their idea spread around, so by all means use it and enjoy. It certainly added an extra fun element to the adventure.

      I’ve only just adopted this theme since discovering from The Commons, that I could change my theme without losing my blog (Yeah, I really am a beginner, even though I’ve been blogging for over a year!) I haven’t really explored it yet but I like the broad header image and hope to use one of my images when I get a moment.

      We can explore it’s abilities together. 🙂

  4. What a fantastic birthday present! Your blog is a pleasure, as always and these photos made think that the beauty of Australia absolutely compensates for the beauty of Scotland which you must at times miss. Sherbrooke Forest is magnificent!

  5. Thank you, Maritza. Scotland has stunning scenery that I truly loved, but it is great to be back home with my family again. And, Australia’s unique and varied landscapes have always held a certain magical quality that makes my heart sing.

  6. Thank you Laila.
    I loved it when my family was young like yours – little children are such fun to have around – but the pleasures don’t disappear as they grow up, they just change.
    I’m sure your creative crew will amaze you from time to time over the years, too.

Leave a Reply

