Reflections and Resolutions

This month, I’ve missed blogging on the full moon, acknowledging the summer/winter solstice (depending on which hemisphere you’re in), and I’ve failed to wish you all a Happy Hanukkah, Merry Christmas or whatever other celebrations may have occurred in your life.

Is it too late to do all that now?

Probably. So, to prevent falling further behind, I’d better wish you a very Happy New Year now.

Happy New Year

Happy New Year

But before we dive into 2014, let’s take a last lingering look at 2013.

If you Google major world events for the year, you may be tempted to end it all before midnight. There is little to celebrate in what the world news offers us. Click here to see for yourself if you wish.

Image representing Google Search as depicted i...

Image via CrunchBase

Instead, I thought it would be fun to focus on some good news stories, but finding those is a little more difficult with a simple Google search, especially if you look for stories that weren’t prompted by a bad news story to begin with. There are stories about a woman’s kindness towards the man who robbed her, young boys standing up to bullies, and  others about positive actions prompted by someone’s cancer. They are all admirable and show the better side of human nature, but why is it difficult to find a good news story that isn’t the result of some disaster or drama?

Maybe it’s because we are wired to be aware of danger. It’s a survival mechanism and news sources are aware of this – they know the best way to get our attention is to feed us bad news stories. Unfortunately, these days that often results in many people feeling afraid and believing the world is becoming less safe.

I’d rather focus on the positives in life, and a good starting point to do that is to avoid paying too much attention to television news. Instead, I try to notice the goodness around me – the checkout girl at the supermarket as she cheerily chats to shoppers, and the store assistants who are prepared to give that little bit extra to help you. I’m often aware of mothers and fathers listening, playing and talking to their children, explaining something, or having fun with each other, loving. I see it on Facebook, people caring about others – brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, grandparents, friends, acquaintences and animals. I read about it in blogs and novels and watch stories about kind people in movies.

In general, people are good. Once in a while, you may come across someone not so good, or someone who is angry and unpleasant, but most of the time, if you pay attention you will find that people want to be nice. They care, they love, they give.

I’ve had a wonderful year. I’ve been treated extremely kindly by family and friends, but also by people I’ve only come to know in the virtual world, people I’ve never met. There is kindness and love everywhere, good deeds happen on a daily basis in a normal everyday way.

My resolution for 2014 is to keep choosing to notice the goodness in the people all around me because it makes me feel wonderful.

What about you?

My wish for you all is that you, too will choose to notice and enjoy the goodness in our world.

Let’s all work to make 2014 one of the best years yet.

And So This is Christmas – John Lennon

John Lennon rehearses Give Peace A Chance by R...

John Lennon rehearses Give Peace A Chance by Roy Kerwood (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

10 thoughts on “Reflections and Resolutions

  1. Thank you for such a positive and uplifting post, Juli! Happy New Year from the darkish and rainy west coast of Norway. I hope you’re enjoying a glorious summer!

    • It was lovely and warm in the Christmas week, Cindi but has cooled down a little this week. Still pleasant, though, and yes, I am enjoying it. We had a lovely Christmas and I hope you did, too.

  2. What a positive take on the New Year! Thank you for this, Juli. I feel like I have come to summer in California this year and am loving being home and with family in the 70ish weather. Wishing you a year filled with seeing the kindnesses around you.

Leave a Reply

