Being in the Present Moment

House Sit Garden

House Sit Garden

Eleven weeks have passed since we returned to Australia. Life has been far from normal, but it’s been fun. We’ve House Sat in two beautiful homes caring for lovely dogs and gardens, spent a few nights with each of my brothers and been well looked after by their wonderful wives, plus, we’ve stayed a few nights with our children.

House Sit Dogs and Gardens

House Sit Dogs and Gardens

It was all very enjoyable, but now I have moved into our own home and I’m loving it. I am not, however, loving the unpacking. It was fun at first, but the novelty wore off and now I’m tired of dealing with the mess of packing boxes, partially assembled furniture all over the place, and working out where all our bits a pieces should go in  a new setting.

Unpacking

Unpacking

Mess

Mess

More boxes

More boxes

I’ve made massive progress, but I haven’t finished yet. This presents problems because I want it done but I don’t want to do it!

One of the reasons I’m taking too long to complete the task may have something to do with the amount of time I spend gazing out the window at this –

The View

The View

Or this –

Sunset Filtered by the Gum Tree

Sunset Filtered by the Gum Tree

One night, while delighting in the changes to the landscape as the sun sank slowly beneath the horizon, I realised how in the moment I was. When I look at this beautiful view, I forget about the unpacked boxes, the garden that needs to be created, the unfinished novel, and everything else I should be doing. I just absorb what I see and enjoy it.

Subtle Shades

Subtle Shades

There have been a number of studies showing the benefit of nature on stress levels, (click here to read an interesting article about this on The Dirt blog) and I’ve been aware of the positive effect nature has on me for some time, however, when I was pondering on this fact later that night, it occurred to me that since arriving back in Australia, I am living in the present far better than I have been for the last couple of years.

I’m no longer dreaming about the type of home I want to live in when I return to Australia, because I’m living in it now.

I no longer think about plans to invite my children to family dinners because we now get together to eat often.

I no longer long to spend more time with my brothers and their wives, because I am doing it, as well as all those other things I wanted to do  but couldn’t when I lived in Glasgow and Boca. They now happen with ease – catching up with Australian friends, bush walks among the gums, waking to the sound of warbling magpies, screeching cockes, whistling thrushes and laughing Kookaburras.

It’s wonderful to know I can stay here and that I don’t need to pack up and move on to somewhere else any time in the near future.

I wonder how long it will take before I start thinking about trips back to Scotland and America again?

7 thoughts on “Being in the Present Moment

  1. How truly wonderful. The sky won’t fall down if you don’t unpack five boxes tomorrow. Or even the next day! It will all get done, of course, but as and when (lovely phrase!) Meanwhile, you are doing the important, human stuff. I tend to think that there will come a moment when you’ll decide: “Right. Now it’s time.” And you’ll build a framework for your life to come. But enjoy the honeymoon to the full!
    Love from Suzanne

  2. There are times you know it’s wonderful to remain in the now but hold wonderful memories of the when that went before. It sounds like you’re ready to a settled creature but you’re taking tour time with the nest because you want it to be right when you finish. Watching a few sunsets, or even sunrises won’t hurt.You’ll get there in the end.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  3. Yes, I know what it is to move! And the unpacking is not my favorite either…but if you look at it positively you are at the end of the project and there are usually no deadlines…so you can take your time and enjoy the gorgeous views!

    • Thank you for popping by. You are so right about the deadlines, I have the luxury of not needing to worry about a work schedule, and I really only have to sort the house out for my husband and myself. Moving with a young family is a hundred times more difficult.
      It’s getting there. 🙂

  4. Pingback: One Last Look at 2013 | Juli Townsend's Transition to Home

Leave a Reply

