Travel Weary

I still have much to learn about blogging, a fact which has been re-inforced this month because I failed to upload this entry automaticcally. As usual, this post was meant to coincide with the full moon, but it had also been programmed (obviously unsuccessfully) to upload when I was travelling.

Travel has become a common occurrence in my life over the last few years, particularly the years since we moved to Glasgow.

I was recently asked what the child I was would think of the life I am now living. The answer that leapt to mind was that she would be dancing with delight, laughing with excitement and  jiggling with the anticipation, eager for it all to happen. I know, because as I’ve travelled the world, there have been many times when I’ve been reminded of that child and her dreams.

Here is a list of a few of those places and what triggered my early desire to visit them:

1. Germany – it was the language I chose to learn in school.

2. The Dead Sea – I wanted to experience sitting in water. 

3.  Switzerland – thanks to Heidi.

4. Disneyland! – What child of the 50’s didn’t dream of visiting Disneyland?

5. Ireland – because of my heritage.

6. Big Ben – I’m not sure why. Maybe because it was in London, and London sounded exciting.

7. A tropical island – I had a romantic notion about sun, sea, sand and islands, it still holds.

7. Liverpool – thank you, beloved Beatles.

8. Jerusalem – a fascination with religion.

9. The Eiful Tower – doesn’t everyone need to see this?

10. The Grand Canyon – as above.

11. Uluru – not overseas, but a helluva long way from where I lived, so I think it’s fair to include it in this list.

12. Europe – history

13. Africa – elephants, zebras, giraffes, oh my!

14. Sand dunes – wide, desolate and amazing places.

15. The pyramids of Giza – Amazing structures I learnt about at school.

Thanks to Tony’s eternal desire for travel, I’ve ticked all those boxes and seen many other magnificent sights along the way.

I’ve travelled to the south, north, east and west of Australia, America and Europe. I’ve been to Africa, China, the Middle East and many small islands.

The move to Scotland opened up Europe for me. A major advantage to living here are the cheap, short flights to another country. To an Australian, where just about everywhere is a long way away, the realisation that we can board a flight in Glasgow and land in another country after an hour’s flight is mind-blowing. We’ve made good use of this opportunity, taking many small trips where we’d spend a few days or up to a week in one place. No travel fatigue of ‘not another cathedral/palace/castle/museum’ for us. We’re back in Scotland before it kicks in.

I know there are many magnificent, quaint, historical and/or incredible European cities, I’ve still to see, but guess what? I don’t care.

In September, Tony and I spent a week in Spain and Portugal. I’d visited both countries before, but in different areas. This time, we stayed in Cadiz in the south of Spain, and drove through Portugal to Sintra. A magical place. I went for the warmth. What I call summer, didn’t happen in Scotland, so I craved blue skies and heat from sunshine. It was wonderful, but it brings me to the point of this post – I still enjoy visiting new places; however, I no longer yearn to go anywhere but Australia.

I’m all travelled out, and yet… I’m planning trips for after we move back to Australia. I want to drive from Perth to Broome, and I’d like to ‘do’ the Nullabor again, see the Flinders Ranges in Wildflower season and drive up the east coast to visit friends and family. There are still places I want to go, things I want to see, but mostly, they seem to be contained in that wide brown land. And that is possibly the reason I’m very excited to be currently travelling – I’m en route to my country.

What would the child you were, think of the life you’re now living? I’d love to hear your responses to that question.

Now, for the third verse of My Country:

My Country by Dorothea McKellar

A stark white ring-barked forest
All tragic to the moon,
The sapphire-misted mountains,
The hot gold hush of noon.
Green tangle of the brushes,
Where lithe lianas coil,
And orchids deck the tree-tops
And ferns the warm dark soil.

See you very soon, my lovely. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Travel Weary

  1. Hi Juli

    I enjoyed reading this very much. I hope you have now safely touched down and are at home in delightful Melbourne. It’s been very cold since Wednesday so enjoy that heat where you are.

    Hi to Tony.

    Have a wonderful time.

    Hilda x

    _____

    From: Juli Townsend’s Transition to Home [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com] Sent: 30 November 2012 01:55 To: hildadefelice@btinternet.com Subject: [New post] Travel Weary

    julitownsend posted: “I still have much to learn about blogging, a fact which has been re-inforced this month because I failed to upload this entry automaticcally. As usual, this post was meant to coincide with the full moon, but it had also been programmed (obviously unsuc”

  2. I fell in love with the fantasy of living in England at a very early age when I read my first Famous Five book by Enid Blyton. Even as a seven year old the descriptions of the villages and lifestyle made me believe that somehow I was born in the wrong country. Even at that age I wondered if I had been adopted and my real parents were in England.

    And so now the child I was is finally living out her fantasy, living in an English village, driving along the narrow winding roads I have seen in movies, seeing for myself the historic bridges, walls, homes and church yard grave yards.

    I have no other wish to travel anywhere else, to try and beat this would be impossible.

    • Lyn, I love this! Something I didn’t know about you.

      I have often wondered why you and so many of the Australians I know hungered for the mother country. I once thought there must be a genetic memory that stayed with some more than others, but now I’m wondering if it is about books.

      Enjoy your time there – I know you will. Let it snow!

Leave a Reply

